Byrrill Creek - PLEASE assist this pristine area and platypus habitat!!
Byrrill Creek - PLEASE assist this pristine area and platypus habitat!!

Byrrill Creek - PLEASE assist this pristine area and platypus habitat!!

Ray's Rave!

Wed, 07/13/2011 - 00:00 -- Ray

As you are aware the Tweed Water Sharing Plan was announced by the former Minister of Water, Mr. Costa, & legislated by the NSW Government on the 17th December 2010, prohibiting the dam for the next ten years.

On the 1st July 2011 Katrina Hodgkinson. Minister for the Primary Industries announced that there would be a Review of the above water sharing plan, due to pressuring by Mayor Kevin Skinner, his councillor colleagues, & support by Nationals MP, Thomas George.  

The dam issue has been exacerbated by the decision of the NSW  Dept Planning in late May to approve Cobaki with no substantial water saving infra structure in place. This will set a precedent for further inaction on new developments and we call for an Enquiry into this.

 

Below are 2 letters to the appropriate Ministers addressing both these issues:

If Possible please rearrange these letters, (especially intro) & add your own point of view..so  they are not all the same.

Further info is available on the Save Byrrill Creek website  www.byrrillcreek.com  go to “How you can help”

& Caldera website   www.calderaenvironmentcentre.org

 

Addresses below: 

The Hon Mrs Katrina Hodgkinson                                                                                    
Minister for Primary Industries
Email: office@hodgkinson.minister.nsw.gov.au

 

The Hon Mr Brad Hazzard:

Minister for Planning & Infrastructure
Email: office@hazzard.minister.nsw.gov.au

 

 Please also send a copy of the above letters expressing your concerns to our Local M Ps

 

The Hon Don Page
Minister for the North Coast and Local Government             

Email: office@page.minister.nsw.gov.au

 

Geoff  Provest, Nationals MP Tweed  tweed@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Thomas George, Nationals MP Lismore  lismore@parliament.nsw.gov.au

 Justine Elliott     justine.elliot.mp@aph.gov.au

 

If you are also inspired letters to the media are also important

Tweed Echo : editor@tweedecho.com.au,
Byron Echo: editor@byronecho.com.au

Northern Rivers Echo: editor@echonews.com.au,
Northern Star: news@northernstar.com.au,
Gold Coast Bulletin:  editor@goldcoast.com.au

Tweed Sun:  tweedsun@gcb.newsltd.com.au

 

Our thanks to you all for your  timely support

Save Byrrill Creek Campaign:  Joanna Gardner & Mircalla Havier

JOIN THE HAPPY HERB TRIBE

Established 1996.

We are proud to be not just for profit and activists for plant freedom.